Manual Install

• Default avatar
    a15855    
     13 years ago

I have a bit of a problem...

I have a heavily hacked core and would like to manually install awo or at least the core hacks.
    I'm worried joomla install will overwrite the already implemented hacks..

Any way i can do that with ease?
  • Your avatar
    seyi    
     13 years ago

Hi, in the Troubleshooting section of the user_guide for AwoCoupon pro, there is step by step for installing the insertions manully.
  • Default avatar
    a15855    
     13 years ago

Ok thanks!

didn't notice the user guide before..

I'm not a php expert but i can insert these codes in the right places but what about the install?

I would expect that i need those files too, so do i just upload those in the /components/com_awocoupon-PRO/ from the com_awocoupon-PRO-1.2.3.zip or do I need to put it in a specific file structure?

Or will the installation just install the components and skip overwriting the hacked files and say step 2 was not finished?
  • Your avatar
    seyi    
     13 years ago

the installer automatically tries to install the insertions. If you do not want that to happen, then I would suggest you change the permissions on those file to read only and then run the automatic installer.

If you want to truely manually install then:
    - copy everything in admin folder into www/administrator/components/com_awocoupon
    - copy awocoupon.xml, install.awocoupon.php, uninstall.awocoupon.php into www/administrator/components/com_awocoupon
    - copy everything in language folder into www/administrator/language
    - open www/administrator/components/com_awocoupon/install.mysql.sql and change #_ into your table prefix, likely jos
    - run the sql statements against your database
    - last, you will have to insert a row into jos_component in order to be able to view AwoCoupon from the components menu in the backend

The first option is probably easier
  • Default avatar
    a15855    
     13 years ago